Свобода слушать музыку

Сегодня музыка доступна, как никогда ранее в истории. Мы можем слушать радиостанции всего мира, миллионы песен доступны в сети Интернет, а новый альбом любимой группы можно купить одним щелчком мыши.

Мы сами решаем, какую музыку слушать: от хэви-метала и рэпа до диско и танцевальных жанров. Для современного человека доступ к музыке — привычное дело.

Тем труднее представить, что когда-то у людей не было такой возможности. Любая музыка, созданная в СССР, подвергалась строгой цензуре, а большинство зарубежных песен и вовсе находились под запретом.

Контролю подвергалась не только музыка — государство тщательно проверяло все потоки информации, от литературы до телевидения, на соответствие официальной идеологии.

Любая музыка, созданная в СССР, подвергалась строгой цензуре, а большинство зарубежных песен и вовсе находились под запретом.

Цензурой занимались несколько организаций. В обязанности Гостелерадио входила цензура радио- и телепередач; Госкомиздат отвечал за печатные издания, а сотрудники Госкино контролировали все советские фильмы.

Если Гостелерадио не нравился какой-либо музыкант или группа, их музыка просто переставала звучать в Советском Союзе. Песни опальных исполнителей не допускались на радио, а пластинки изымались из продажи. Творчество таких групп в один миг переставало существовать для широкой публики.

Музыка запрещалась в Советском Союзе по разным причинам. В одной из директив 1985 года под названием «Аннотированный список зарубежных музыкальных ансамблей и исполнителей, в творчестве которых содержатся идейно и нравственно вредные произведения» содержались подробности о «вредных» группах и причинах их запрета.

Список содержал исполнителей самых разных жанров: и Элис Купер, и Тина Тернер считались одинаково опасными для советского радиоэфира.

Black Sabbath, The Sex Pistols, Madness, Village People, B-52 и Kiss не допускались на радио, поскольку цензура усмотрела в текстах их песен пропаганду насилия. Тина Тернер, Донна Саммер и Шеннон Инглиш были объявлены вне закона за сексуальную и эротическую тематику песен.

Другие группы были запрещены по более конкретным причинам: Pink Floyd — за «вмешательство во внешнюю политику СССР»; Talking Heads — за создание «мифа о советской военной опасности»; Van Halen — за «антисоветскую пропаганду» и даже Genghis Kahn — за «антикоммунизм и национализм».

Несмотря на угрозу тюремного заключения, фанатам удавалось провозить в Советский Союз пластинки запрещенных исполнителей. Записи копировались, затем копировались уже сами копии, и вскоре музыка из-за Железного занавеса хоть и тихо, но играла во многих домах.

Помимо нелегальных пластинок, людям удавалось слушать и заграничные радиостанции. В стране сильно выросли продажи коротковолновых приемников, позволяющие ловить сигналы из-за рубежа.

Прознав об этом, коммунистическое правительство начало блокировать все иностранные радиостанции. Они оставались заблокированными в течение почти 60 лет, за что советская радиоцензура считалась самой мощной в мире.

В то же время сам факт радиоблокировки считался огромной государственной тайной; и это был лишь один из способов контролировать информационные потоки в стране. Правительство даже запретило импорт и усилило контроль за производством советских радиоприемников: они изначально были настроены только на государственные радиостанции.

Контролируя музыку, советские цензоры надеялись контролировать убеждения граждан. Но они не подозревали, насколько сильным окажется стремление советских людей к свободе. До самого падения Советского Союза по стране ходили нелегальные копии музыкальных пластинок, равно как и романы, стихи и брошюры Самиздата. Наконец люди смогли свободно слушать любимую музыку где и когда угодно.


Pin It on Pinterest

Freedom to make music

Music is all around us and accessing it has never been easier. We can tune in to radio stations all over the world, browse millions of songs from our smartphones, and buy any album or music video with a single click.

We’re free to listen to whatever genre of music we want – from heavy metal and rap to disco and dance, and everything in between. Accessing and engaging with our choice of music is second nature.

It’s hard to imagine a time when it wasn’t that way, but during the Soviet era things were very different. Any music made within the Soviet Union was censored by the government prior to release; and most music from outside the Soviet Union was illegal to access.

It wasn’t just music – all media that citizens of the Soviet Union consumed – from literature to TV – was censored to ensure it was in line with the official ideology and politics of the communist government.

Any music made within the Soviet Union was censored by the government prior to release; and most music from outside the Soviet Union was illegal to access.

Censorship was performed by several organisations. Gosteleradio was responsible for censoring radio and TV broadcasting; Goskomizdat was in charge of censoring printed matter – from novels to poetry and everything in between and Goskino was in charge of cinema and film.

If the Gosteleradio didn’t like a certain band or musician, their music wouldn’t be played in the Soviet Union. Not only that, they would be banned from the radio and their records removed from sale. They would simply become non-existent as far as the Soviet state was concerned.

There were a whole host of reasons why music was banned from the Soviet Union. One 1985 directive with the title ‘The Approximate List of Foreign Musical Groups and Artists Whose Repertoires Contain Ideologically Harmful Compositions’ was unearthed, which contained the details of the so-called harmful bands and the reason why they were banned.

The list of banned music wasn’t isolated to a particular genre – with artists from Alice Cooper to Tina Turner being deemed too dangerous for the Soviet Union’s airwaves.

Bands and musicians such as Black Sabbath, The Sex Pistols, and Madness were banned from radio play alongside the Village People, B-52s and Kiss for promoting violence in their lyrics. In addition, Tina Turner, Donna Summer and Shannon English were outlawed for sex and eroticism.

Other bands were banned for more overt reasons: Pink Floyd for ‘interfering with the foreign policy of the USSR’; Talking Heads for creating a ‘myth of Soviet military danger’; Van Halen for ‘anti-Soviet propaganda’ and even Genghis Khan for ‘anti-communism and nationalism’.

Despite the threat of jail if caught, fans managed to smuggle tapes by banned artists into the Soviet Union. The tapes were copied, then the copies were copied and eventually music from beyond the Iron Curtain was being played widely (and very quietly) behind closed doors.

As well as listening to illegal tapes, people were managing to listen to radio from outside the Soviet Union. More and more households were acquiring shortwave receivers, meaning people could tune into foreign radio stations – but not for long.

In fact, the communist government was so keen to control what citizens were listening to they started blocking foreign radio stations. Stations were blocked all over the Soviet for almost 60 years, making the USSR’s radio censorship network the most powerful in the world.

The widespread radio blocking was considered a huge state secret; another way to control information reaching citizens. The communist government even went as far as to halt the import and control the manufacturing of household radios; ensuring that the reach of the signal would always be within Soviet range.

By controlling music, the Soviet censors hoped to control their citizens’ minds. But they didn’t count on the desire for freedom of the Soviet people, who continued to circulate illegal tapes of banned music, along with illegally copied novels, poems and pamphlets, until the fall of the Soviet Union in 1989. Finally, people were free to listen to the music they loved, wherever and whenever they liked.


Pin It on Pinterest