СВОБОДА СЛОВА

В современной Европе мы привыкли говорить то, что думаем. Мы привыкли открыто выражать свое мнение, выкладывая посты в Твиттер, Инстаграм или Фейсбук, и обсуждать политику в кафе с друзьями. Наши личные разговоры остаются между нами, но мы также свободны делиться почти всем, что нам нравится в мире — независимо от того, во что мы верим или какую партию поддерживаем.

Но так было не всегда. Пока Советский Союз находился под властью коммунистов, лишнее слово «не тому» человеку или выражение антиправительственных взглядов — даже с глазу на глаз — могли привести к тяжелым последствиям

 

Те, кто выступал против режима, обвинялись в соответствии с советским уголовным кодексом. Дальше у них было три пути: ссылка, психиатрическая больница или ГУЛАГ.

Строгий контроль за свободой слова был введен самой бесцеремонной службой контрразведки в истории. Печально известная тайная полиция ГДР Штази шпионила за гражданами, выявляя антиправительственные настроения до тех пор, пока они смогут распространиться. В домах, на работе, в метро, барах и ресторанах — Штази вела прослушку везде, где можно было собрать информацию.

Ни один личный разговор — даже в кругу семьи или друзей — не был защищен от государственной слежки. Штази использовала собранную информацию, чтобы составлять чрезвычайно подробные и досье на всех людей — от обычного гражданина до хулигана и бунтаря. Эти досье стали частью одной из крупнейших баз личных данных в мире. В архивах Штази хранится более 111 километров досье на самых разных людей: от пекарей до банкиров, от поэтов до педиатров.

Если приходилось следить за личными разговорами, то что говорить о публичных выступлениях! В 1968 год восемь советских диссидентов устроили мирную сидячую акцию протеста на Лобном месте в Москве. Акция, также известная как «демонстрация семерых», была организована против вторжения Советского Союза в Чехословакию. Через несколько минут после того, как протестующие достали свои плакаты, семеро из восьми были атакованы, жестоко избиты и загнаны в машины КГБ. Большинство из них были приговорены к тюремному заключению за участие в протесте, двое отправились на «принудительное лечение» в психбольницу.

Чтобы быть услышанными, гражданам приходилось идти на крайние меры… Несколько граждан социалистических стран в качестве акта протеста сожгли себя заживо. Среди них — студент Ян Палах, польский бухгалтер Рышард Сивец, чешский рабочий Евжен Плочек, литовский гимназист Ромас Каланта и украинский инженер Олекса Гирнык.

Те, кто выступал против режима, обвинялись в соответствии с советским уголовным кодексом. Дальше у них было три пути: ссылка, психиатрическая больница или ГУЛАГ.

Чтобы предотвратить распространение инакомыслия, массовые беспорядки и протесты часто умалчивались государственными СМИ. Таким образом, большинство граждан не узнали бы о протестах, если бы не сарафанное радио.

Ирония заключается в том, что советский режим был окончательно свергнут серией массовых протестов и восстаний невиданных прежде масштабов. 23 августа 1989 года около двух миллионов человек выстроили живую цепь, соединив Таллин, Ригу и Вильнюс и требуя независимости от СССР. 9 ноября того же года около двух миллионов граждан ГДР устремились к границе и начали рушить ненавистную берлинскую стену, которая отделяла их от друзей и родственниках на Западе почти тридцать лет

Обычные люди: Ян Палах

16 января 1969 года Ян Палах совершил акт самосожжения на Вацлавской площади в Праге, выступая против коммунистического правительства в Чехословакии. Двадцатилетний студент философского факультета Карлова университета в Праге умер через три дня от полученных ожогов.

Перед самосожжением Палах отправил письмо нескольким коммунистическим общественным деятелям с требованием отменить цензуру и прекратить распространение официальной газеты советских войск «Зправы». Также он призвал чешский народ объявить забастовку в его поддержку.

В 1989 году, в 20-ю годовщину смерти Палаха, его поминки превратились в антикоммунистические акции протеста. Протесты дали ход Бархатной революции, которая в том же году свергла коммунистический режим в Чехословакии.

Смертью Палаха вдохновились два других чеха — Ян Зайиц и Евген Плочек, которые в течение следующего месяца по его примеру совершили акт самосожжения. До Палаха гражданин Чехии Рышард Сивец также разделил его судьбу, выступая против коммунизма. Смерть Сивеца была сокрыта и предалась огласке только после падения коммунизма. Ян Палах не знал о протесте Сивеца.


Pin It on Pinterest

Freedom to speak your mind

In most of Europe today, we’re used to saying exactly what we think. Whether we’re posting our beliefs on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook, or debating politics between friends in a cafe, we’re free to speak our minds. Behind closed doors our conversations remain private, but we also have the freedom to broadcast almost anything we like to the world, no matter which party we support or what we believe.

But we weren’t always so free. While the Soviet Union was under communist rule, the consequences of saying the wrong thing to the wrong person or expressing anti-government views – even behind closed doors – were brutal.

Those who spoke out against the regime could be charged under Soviet Criminal Code and given the choice of exile, being placed in a mental hospital or working in a labour camp.

The strict controls on free speech were enforced by the most intrusive state surveillance operation in history. Most infamously, East Germany’s secret police, the Stasi, ran a vast spying operation to identify and crush anti-government sentiment before it could spread. From family homes to places of work and subway trains to bars and restaurants; the Stasi would bug anywhere they thought they could gather information.

No private conversation, even among friends and family, was free from being snooped on by the state. The Stasi used all this information to build extremely detailed and personal files on people – from average Joes to rebellious punks. This information became part of one of the largest databases of private information in the world. There are over 111 kilometres of files in the Stasi Records Archives on everyone from bakers to bankers, poets to paediatricians.

If you had to be careful about the conversations you had in private, public acts of protest against the regime were even more forbidden. In 1968, eight dissidents staged a peaceful sitting protest at the Lobnoye Mesto in Moscow. The protest, which is now known as the Red Square demonstration, was staged in reaction to the invasion of Czechoslovakia by the Soviet Union. Within minutes of the protesters taking their positions, seven of the eight were assaulted, brutally beaten and forced into cars by the KGB – the Soviet Union’s main security agency. Many of the eight were sentenced to prison for their involvement in the protest.

Without the right to protest, citizens resulted to extreme measures to express their discontentment and get noticed. Some Soviet citizens even resorted to setting themselves on fire as an act of radical protest. Student Jan Palach, Polish accountant Ryszard Siwiec, Czech toolmaker Evžen Plocek, Lithuanian high school student Romas Kalanta and Ukrainian engineer Oleksa Hirnyk all burnt themselves to death.

Those who spoke out against the regime could be charged under Soviet Criminal Code and given the choice of exile, being placed in a mental hospital or working in a labour camp.

In order to prevent dissent from spreading, riots and protests often went unreported by the heavily controlled state media. So most citizens would be unaware that a protest had even taken place, unless they heard about it on the grapevine.

It is perhaps ironic, then, that the Soviet regime was finally brought down by a series of mass protests and uprisings on a scale hardly before seen in history. On 23 August 1989, around two million people joined hands to form a mass human chain across three Baltic states – Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia – to demand independence from the USSR. And on November 9th of the same year, around two million East German citizens descended on the Berlin Wall and began to pull down the hated wall that had divided them from friends and family in the West for nearly thirty years.

Real people: Jan Palach

On January 16 1969, Jan Palach set himself on fire in Wenceslas Square in Prague in a public act of protest against the communist government in Czechoslovakia. Palach – a 20-year-old student studying economics at Charles University in Prague – died of his injuries three days later in hospital.

Prior to his self-immolation, Palach sent a letter to several communist public figures demanding the abolition of censorship and a halt to the distribution of Zprávy, the official newspaper of the Soviet forces. Palach also called for Czech people to go on strike in support of his demands.

On the 20th anniversary of Palach’s death in 1989, memorial gatherings for Palach turned into anti-communist protests. The protests gave momentum to the Velvet Revolution that brought down the communist regime in Czechoslovakia later that year.

Palach’s death is thought to have inspired two other Czechs – Jan Zajíc and Evžen Plocek – who also died from self-immolation in the following months. Before Palach, Polish citizen Ryszard Siwiec set himself on fire in protest of communism. Siwiec’s death was successfully concealed up by the authorities and only came to light after the fall of communism. Palach was not aware of Siwiec’s protest at the time of his death.


Pin It on Pinterest